European Parliamentary elections on 22 May 2014

In the UK, elections to the European Parliament will be taking place on Thursday, 22 May 2014. The UK is represented by 73 MEPs from twelve electoral regions. The West Midlands is represented by seven MEPs.

The election period across the EU stretches from 22 May to 25 May. Results will be announced in the evening of the 25th, after the last polling station has closed. In order to be entitled to vote, you need to register with your local electoral registration office. EU citizens who live in an EU country which is not their country of origin are also entitled to vote. Likewise, British citizens living abroad can register as overseas voters.

Further information on how to register is available here:

Further information on how to vote, the UK candidates, the voting system etc. is provided by the European Parliament’s Information Office in the UK:

If you’re unsure about who to vote for or would like to test your knowledge on EU matters, this website might help you: